City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Melbourne City Council Nov 2016
Pictured left to right, front row: District 2 Council Member Betty Moore; Mayor Kathy Meehan; District 4 Council Member Debbie Thomas. Back row, left to right: District 1 Council Member Tim Thomas; Vice Mayor & District 3 Council Member Yvonne Minus; District 5 Council Member Paul Alfrey; and District 6 Council Member Teresa Lopez.


The Melbourne City Council consists of the Mayor and six Council Members who serve four-year terms.

The Mayor and Council Members are elected by a city-wide vote. Each Council Member represents a district of the city. (View a map of City Council Districts)

The City Council is responsible for setting municipal policy, including passage of laws and the annual budget. By majority vote the Council hires a City Manager to conduct the City's daily business and a City Attorney to protect the legal interests and assets of the City of Melbourne.