City Council information, City of Melbourne, Florida
City of Melbourne Council Members
CITY LEADERSHIP: Pictured prior to a recent City Council meeting are, from left in front, District 2 Council Member and Vice Mayor Betty Moore; Mayor Kathy Meehan; District 4 Council Member Debbie Thomas; District 6 Teresa Lopez; on the back row from left, District 1 Council Member Mike Nowlin; District 3 Council Member Dan Porsi; and District 5 Council Member Molly Tasker. Each year a member is selected by majority vote to serve as Vice Mayor.

City Council members are listed below with their telephone numbers. Use the links to access biographical information about individual members of the City Council.


Link to Biography Page Telephone Number E-mail Address
Mayor Kathy Meehan 984-7588
District One Mike Nowlin 254-1886
District Two
Vice Mayor
Betty Moore 205-3389
District Three Dan Porsi 499-2671
District Four Debbie Thomas 508-7171
District Five Molly Tasker 259-1719
District Six
Teresa Lopez (347) 686-4172

The City of Melbourne accepts Internet e-mail for all City Council members at . Additional e-mail addresses which are maintained by elected officials for their own use and provide the option of direct contact with those individuals. Correspondence to the Mayor and Council members should be addressed to them at: City Hall,  900 East Strawbridge Ave., Melbourne, Florida 32901.

The Melbourne City Council consists of the Mayor and six Council members who serve four-year terms.  The Mayor is elected at large and Council members represent districts, although also elected by citywide vote. A map of City Council Districts is available.

The City Council is responsible for setting municipal policy, including passage of laws and the annual budget.  By majority vote the Council hires a City Manager to conduct the City's daily business.

A contacts list of city officials is available, which includes contact information for the Mayor and Council Members, City Manager, City Clerk, and City Attorney.

The City Council meets at City Hall, 900 E. Strawbridge Ave., at 6:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. The agenda and a summary of minutes are available, as well as archived meeting minutes.

The Council appoints members of the volunteer boards which serve in an advisory capacity or as quasi-judicial bodies.  A listing of City boards is available along with information about board obligations

For information about board opportunities, contact the City Clerk's office at 608-7221 or email:

Regular City Council meetings are televised on cable channel 499. Meetings are the second and fourth Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m., and are normally televised six times in the following two weeks. Broadcasts are at 12:01 a.m. on Thursdays, 9 a.m. Fridays, and 6 p.m. Sundays. Space Coast Govt. Television gives priority to televising activities of the Florida Legislature as well as Brevard County government meetings, so scheduled telecasts of Melbourne City Council meetings may be occasionally preempted by other programming.

RECORDS: Video recordings of regular City Council meetings are available from the City Clerk's Office on DVD for a fee of $1. Audio recordings of City Council meetings can also be obtained from the City Clerk's Office. Prior to each meeting an agenda package is available online. Following each meeting, a summary of minutes is posted and remains online until the complete minutes are considered for approval at the following City Council meeting. The approved minutes of each meeting are archived online.


Mailing Address:
City Clerk's Office
900 E. Strawbridge Avenue
Melbourne, FL 32901
Telephone: (321) 608-7221

Melbourne Home Page