City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Teachers Recognized for Exemplary Teaching in Science

Post Date:08/14/2017 9:54 AM

The City of Melbourne congratulates seven outstanding science teachers who received the distinguished Exemplary Science Teacher Award from the Space Coast Science Education Alliance (SCSEA) on August 7. The award recognizes Brevard County teachers who go above normal class standards to educate their students in science.

The awards were presented at the organization’s annual banquet held at the Eastern Florida State College (EFSC) Planetarium and Observatory.

Exemplary Science Teacher Award Recipients on August 7

Pictured with their awards, from left to right, are: Julie Alban (Central Middle School), Deirdre Hallock (Manatee Elementary School), Alaina Bradley (Titusville High School), Holly Schumann-Grubb (Roosevelt Elementary School), Rochelle Schneider (Sea Park Elementary School), Natalie Marshall (Eau Gallie High School), and Meredith Spencer (Edgewood Junior/Senior High School).


All winners received an award, stipend check for future classroom projects, and dinner provided by Renaissance Catering. Ms. Spencer received the award for the second time in five years, which gave her entry into the SCSEA’s “Hall of Fame.” Her picture will be placed in the Brevard Public Schools administrative building’s hallway along with previous “Hall of Fame” recipients.

Numerous sponsors from across Brevard County made the awards banquet possible, including gold sponsors American Society of Mechanical Engineers-Canaveral Section, Canaveral Council of Technical Societies, EFSC Planetarium and Observatory, Florida Institute of Technology, Lockheed Martin Space Systems, The Viera Company and United Launch Alliance. Silver sponsors were Discovery Education, Dixie Crossroads Seafood Restaurant, Dr. Ross McCluney, National Geographic Learning, Publix Super Markets, Satcom Direct, Society of American Military Engineers-Space Coast Post and Waste Management.

City of Melbourne Environmental Programs Coordinator Jennifer Thompson served as MC for the event. Since 2011, the City of Melbourne has been an active member of SCSEA — a nonprofit affiliation of organizations and individuals who work together to improve scientific education and STEM literacy in Brevard County. The group aims to recognize and encourage outstanding teachers through programs like the Exemplary Science Teacher Awards. For more information about the Exemplary Science Teacher Awards or SCSEA, please visit

Return to full list >>